“I’ve loved writing for as long as I can remember …”

I know all authors say this, but it’s true – I have loved writing for as long as I can remember and I have the proof – a ragged old notebook I wrote all my stories in.

childhood notebook - HPSquirrel Nutkin and His Brothers was my first effort, and my older brother still mercilessly ribs me about the immortal opening lines:

‘Once upon a time a mother squirrel sat in her drey feeling very happy, for she was going to have some new babies. The next day when mother squirrel woke up, the drey was full of baby squirrels.’

I was only about seven. It wasn’t my fault no-one had explained the birds and bees to me yet, was it? I think I was more interested in making sure everyone realised how clever I was for knowing  a squirrel’s nest is called a drey!

Onto my teens, when I had an English teacher who encouraged my writing. She was also into astrology in a big way and drew up my chart – in which I apparently have a “trine  of planets denoting an extremely creative streak”. So far, so good …

She also asked me whether I practised yoga. This seemed a strange question at the time, but apparently my chart indicated a lot of stress. I wish I’d asked her more about that … I never did get along with yoga.

Back to the writing … or not. It had to go on the backburner while I raised my family and later went back to work. Too tired to write, instead I found a creative outlet in card-making, scrapbooking and collage. It was lovely to discover I have just a teensy bit of talent in the visual arts, because I can’t draw for toffee! (as proved in the photo…)

So how did I find my way back to the written word? Well, as my daughter grew older it became clear she was a chip off the old block – she’s a prolific writer, and was clearly getting so much enjoyment from it that I began to wonder if I was missing out on my old pastime.

And so, about five years ago, I began to write again – and once I got started, I couldn’t stop. It was like rediscovering an old love, and now it’s an intrinsic part of me that won’t be denied.

Naturally, I couldn’t be more thrilled that Astraea Press is publishing my romance Warm Hearts in Winter on 30th September. I love writing for writing’s sake … but it’s great to know someone else likes it, too!

13 thoughts on ““I’ve loved writing for as long as I can remember …”

  1. jeff7salter says:

    I, too, began writing at an early age. Though, in my case, I never really “got away” fro it because when I wasn’t writing creatively, I was writing for my job. But what a joy, when I took an early retirement 8 yrs ago, to return to creative writing! Nobody telling me what I had to write… besides those inner muses.
    Congratulations on your return to writing … and wonderful that your child also has that bent.
    P.S. I didn’t know what a “drey” was.

      • jeff7salter says:

        I know exactly what you mean. For nearly three decades, most of my writing was manuals, studies, evaluations, reviews, reports, recommendations, documentation of incidents, and misc. general correspondence. Writing ANYthing takes effort, time, and creativity, but it certainly is more rewarding to write what’s inside you than what’s happening TO you.

I'd love to hear from you ...

