Meet … Kathy Bosman!

With Halloween just a few days away, I’d like to welcome author Kathy Bosman to tell us more about her Halloween release.

To whet everyone’s appetite, let’s start with the tempting cover of your book and the blurb … 

His Halloween Kisses

 

Ali’s never been so scared. She’s housesitting for a colleague on Halloween night, but the lights have gone out, and terrible noises and crashes send her imagination into overdrive. When her brother’s friend comes to her rescue, he kisses her in the dark three times. Once back in the light, Ali is embarrassed at allowing him to kiss her. Byron tries to ignore his strong attraction for Ali, especially seeing he’s not ready for a relationship. When Ali finds out why, she runs away, but life has other plans. What can bring them together? Fate, faith, or the memory of his Halloween kisses?

And a quick excerpt …

 

The TV made a fizz, and the light from its screen compressed into a small dot. All the lights in the house went out.

A power failure.

She sat frozen for a moment, unsure what to do next. This wasn’t her own home. Where did they keep candles and torches? At her place, she stored them in the kitchen drawer, and so did her parents in her childhood house. Wouldn’t that be the logical place? Blinking furiously, she hoped to find some light somewhere to guide her to the kitchen without bumping into something. Nothing. She couldn’t see a single thing. There was no moon tonight. Probably as overcast as it had been the whole miserable, rainy, windy afternoon. She spread out her hands in front of her and walked slowly, one awkward, terrifying step at a time.

In the darkness, the sounds were magnified. Wind whined like a strangled prisoner through every window, door crack, and ceiling board. Something tapped at one of the windows from the dining room. Tap…tap…tap. Probably just a branch from a nearby bush. It couldn’t be a ghost or a zombie, could it? Her quickened pulse didn’t believe any logical arguments tonight.

Images streamed through her darkened vision—pictures of real witches, zombies with bared teeth and deathly pale faces, and horrible creatures with horrific wolf-like snouts and sharp fangs. She shivered. For some reason, tonight, Halloween was getting under her skin.

And not in a nice way.

A crash sounded in the kitchen.

Her leg remained poised for the next step, but she couldn’t take it.

She couldn’t go in there.

What was that? Terror strangled her a moment, making it hard to breathe.

Possibly only the Bauman family cat, their little black and white tabby. A smile curled her mouth in response to the calming thought. Black cat—bad luck. Yeah, she sure was overthinking this whole simple inconvenience of a power outage.

Something brushed past her leg, something warm, soft, and silent.

Hot tears sprang to her eyes.

 

Sounds like really spooky fun! So tell me …

What was the initial kernel of an idea that got you started writing His Halloween Kisses?

It’s partly inspired by a personal experience. When I was young and single (although dating), I house-sat for a person I knew. The house wasn’t in a nice area and seemed “haunted.” There were lots of horrible noises and she warned me to stay away from the volatile neighbour. You can imagine my fear spending nights alone in that place. I decided then and there to never house-sit alone again. A fiery kiss I shared with my boyfriend then (who is now my husband) made the experience more bearable. That helped inspire my book as well as the thought – what would it be like to kiss a total stranger in the dark?

Sounds like a good enough starting point to me! So tell me – what is your heroine Ali’s most admirable quality?

She’s actually quite forgiving and open-minded as you’ll discover once you read the story.

And your hero Byron’s?

Byron is gentle and a very generous person – always giving gifts to those he loves.

They’re perfect for each other! Have you started your next book yet, and if so, can you tell us a little about it?

Um, I have a book in the brainstorming stage. I just have to find a chance to write it. It’s the fourth book in my Wedding Girls Series. This book is about a wedding planner who finds love – maybe with one of the groomsmen, I don’t know.

So where do you do your writing?

I write in our school room. I homeschool my kids. My husband made these gorgeous desks for us with plenty of shelves and space.

Custom-made space, then! But if you could have your dream space to write, where or what would it be?

I’d love to write in front of a window with the view of the beach and ocean nearby. Or maybe a city like Paris or Greece.

Oh, yes, I would love either of those … although I suspect I’d never get any work done!

I know this is an old question, but I always find it so telling – If you were stuck on a desert island …

Think I’d go crazy. I hate being alone for too long. I would probably keep a journal to stay sane. And grow my own vegetables. Maybe write a fiction novel based on my experience.

What are your top 3 movies?

Notting Hill – excellent script – funny with real and likeable characters – I adored Spike!

The Lake House – so romantic and Keanu Reeves is so yummy in it

Uptown Girls – a random movie about loss – could really identify with it

Your top 3 books?

The Magician’s Nephew – C.S. Lewis’ first Narnia book – it blows me away

The Last Sin Eater – Francine Rivers – so touching

I honestly can’t think of a third one. I’ve read so many good books.

Top 3 albums?

Lady Antebellum – I love country music and they’re so inspiring

Shania Twain – also romantic and inspiring music

Celtic Woman – I’m crazy about Irish music

Great getting to know you! Thank you for visiting.

 

His Halloween Kisses is available at:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/His-Halloween-Kisses-Kathy-Bosman-ebook/dp/B00NLW3O20

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/his-halloween-kiss-kathy-bosman/1120353198?ean=2940150741317

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/477020

Wattpad (first chapter free): http://www.wattpad.com/71304785-his-halloween-kisses-by-kathy-bosman?utm_source=email-uploaded_story

Kathy BosmanABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Kathy loves reading and writing even more. She homeschools her three kids, so in between unsuccessfully explaining the difference between subject and predicate or how to divide fractions, she enters an imaginary world of troubled and passionate characters whose stories take over the page. Kathy lives in Kwazulu Natal, South Africa, where the summers are hot, the winters cool, and bugs thrive. Her first published novel, Wedding Gown Girl, came out in 2012. She belongs to the Romance Writers of South Africa Group (ROSA) which has been her greatest support and inspiration the last few years.

 

Online Links for Kathy:

Website and blog: http://www.kathybosman.com/

Facebook author page: http://www.facebook.com/KathleenBosman

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KathleenLBosman

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5257900.Kathy_Bosman

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/gracewalk17

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Kathy-Bosman/e/B007GCQBNK

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxifimh0X62uZLvKkon8tDQ

Newsletter Subscription: http://eepurl.com/NokET

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Meet … Kathy Bosman!

I'd love to hear from you ...

