Halloween desert island

Halloween pumpkin - HP

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been asking the guest authors on my blog a few questions about themselves as well as their work … so I decided that from time to time, in the interest of fairness, I should subject myself to the same – in this case, adapting for the time of year!

So – if I was stuck on a desert island at Halloween (a highly likely scenario, of course) …

 

What scary movie would I take?

I’m going to cheat here, because I don’t really watch horror movies. I saw a few when I was younger, but I haven’t watched any for years now, as I tend to find them either too nightmare-inducing or just plain distasteful.

But if I could take a TV series instead, then it would definitely be Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Funny, intelligent, scary, emotional … great stuff!

And if you made me pick one particular episode for its 5-star scariness, then it would have to be ‘Hush’ from the fourth series (and my daughter agrees with me on this one!) Black humour and extremely scary baddies … just thinking about The Gentlemen floating menacingly around town, scalpel-in-hand, makes the hair stand up on the back of my neck!

What book?

Definitely Salem’s Lot by Stephen King. I first read it in my teens, after I’d watched the TV mini-series with David Soul and James Mason. Even though I knew pretty much what was going to happen, I was absolutely terrified. It’s a long book and slow in places – but slow in a good way, as he introduces you to the town’s inhabitants, their lives and affairs, draws you in … and then makes you stand by as they get picked off one by one. I’ve read a few other Stephen King novels, but this was the one that grabbed my imagination and hung on.

What song?

I think it would have to be Ghost Town by The Specials, with its spooky vocals and political undertones (yes, I was a rebellious teen when it came out in 1981!)

So – over to you! I’d love to hear what your ‘desert island’ Halloween choices would be …

I'd love to hear from you ...

