Love, Candy & Cupcakes Blog Hop

CLRFeb

Thank you to all those taking part. Comments are now closed.

And using that good old traditional names out of a hat method (independently adjucated by my son!) the winner is Connie Saunders. Congratulations!

 

Welcome to the Candlelight Reads ‘Love, Candy & Cupcakes Blog Hop’. There are giveaways at each hop, so make sure you visit them all!

Since it’s Valentine’s weekend we were asked – of course! – what’s your favorite romance?

When I thought about the question, my mind went into complete panic mode. All those lovely books and movies! Which one to pick? As competing thoughts clamored for attention, one image swam above all the rest. Tom Hanks. 

I honestly think my favorite romance is You’ve Got Mail. For me, it has everything a romance should have – believable characters, great dialogue, a beautifully-crafted getting-to-know-each-other stage, a twist, conflict, a tear-inducing happy ending … plus great secondary characters and a lovable dog. Perfection! 

I love the way the movie moves through each season with a nod to how the characters and city change as the year progresses. No prizes for guessing which season my new romance celebrates, though! 

WarmHeartsinWinter_HelenPollard_ CoverCan two hearts thaw on the midwinter moors?

When Abby Davis accepts an assignment in the wilds of Yorkshire as personal assistant to a widowed novelist, she assumes he’s an ageing recluse. Jack Blane is anything but. Still struggling to get his life and career back on track after his wife’s death, Jack isn’t ready for a breath of fresh air like Abby. Snowed in at his winter retreat, as the weeks go by Abby must rethink her policy of never getting involved at work … and Jack must decide if he’s willing to risk love a second time.

Available from Amazon, B & N, Kobo, Smashwords and other e-book retailers.

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW  CLOSED

 ***     And now for the GIVEAWAY!     ***

For a chance to win a $5 or £5 Amazon voucher (depending where you are!) and a pdf copy of Warm Hearts in Winter, all you have to do is comment below with your favorite romance – book or movie. You’ll need to give your e-mail address to comment, but it won’t be published!

The winner will be drawn on February 17th and contacted by Helen before the end of the week. 

 

Now, why not hop on over to these other blogs and have a go at winning their prizes, too?

1. Emerald Barnes’ Dreaming Awake 2. Barbara Cool Lee’s MY FUNNY VALENTINE
3. Bonnie Blythe’s Pure Romance 4. Heather Gray, Inspirational Romance
5. Zanna Mackenzie – Love, magic & cupcakes 6. There Is No Place Like Home
7. Helen Pollard – Contemporary romance with heart 8. Krysten Lindsay Hager, author
9. Catherine Bennett, Inspirational Romance 10. Heart of Stone – a Valentine romance

 

28 thoughts on “Love, Candy & Cupcakes Blog Hop

  1. Catherine G. says:

    Favorite romance – book or movie?
    I recently got the chance to read The Beginning (An eShort prequel to The Bridge) by Karen Kingsbury and I have to say that it was an incredible story to read. It’s full of love and all sorts of other heart warming feelings!

    • Helen Pollard says:

      Hi Lynn, thanks for stopping by. I’ve not seen The Notebook – a friend banned me from watching it as I get hopelessly upset at weepy things! – but I’ve heard it’s very good. I did enjoy Gone With Wind but it’s a very long time since I saw it.

  2. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson says:

    Helen, at my age I have read many romances and also TV movies, but right now my mind just went blank.I did love the Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. Such a sweet romance. I would love to be your winner. Thanks for the Blog Hop. Maxie > mac262(at)me(dot)com <

  3. ellisdream says:

    Favourite movie: You’ve got Mail.
    Favourite book: there are a lot, but I’ll go with Persuasion by Jane Austen. It’s my favourite JA book and one of my favourite of all time!
    shantih (at) hotmail (dot) it

    • Helen Pollard says:

      Hi, thanks for your visit. Another vote for You’ve Got Mail! I like Persuasion too, but tend to veer towards Pride and Prejudice … although maybe that’s just because I have a thing for Colin Firth!

    • Helen Pollard says:

      Hi Patricia. I’ve not seen Never Been Kissed, but I’ll keep an eye out for it now. I think I may have read and enjoyed some Rebecca Winters but not sure which! Happy Valentine’s Day to you too.

  4. conniepsaunders says:

    I love An Affair to Remember with Cary Grant and Deborah Kerr and Sleepless in Seattle with Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan. An Affair to Remember is a big part of the plot of Sleepless in Seattle!
    Connie

    • Helen Pollard says:

      Oh, yes, I remember it played a part in the later movie. I love Sleepless in Seattle! Well, let’s face it, Tom Hanks & Meg Ryan go so well together. Tom Hanks is like the guy-next-door – so believable in everything. Thanks for dropping by, Connie.

    • Helen Pollard says:

      Hello, Anne. I don’t read much historical romance either and I’d not heard of Lisa Kleypas so I’ve just been having a quick look at her website. Oh dear – my to-read list just keeps getting longer …! Thanks for the recommendation.

  5. Shelley Walker says:

    So many to chose from – I loved “Safe Haven”, but “The Notebook” is a top pick too. Thanks for participating in the giveaway!

  6. Helen Pollard says:

    Hi Shelley, and welcome! The Notebook seems to be quite a popular one. I must get around to reading Nicholas Sparks, but I gather his books are pretty emotional, and it doesn’t take much to make me weep buckets!

  7. Sarah Miles says:

    Hiya! Bookwise, I love The Princess by Lori Wick and seem to reread it annually. Movies, Kate & Leopold or City of Angels. I think I just love Meg Ryan’s work from around that time 🙂

  8. Robin in NC says:

    The Proposal It’s funny & sad & a sweet romance too! Got to agree with You’ve Got Mail too! Thanks Helen!
    rw620 at aol dot com

I'd love to hear from you ...

