Meet … Christina Lorenzen!

This week I’d like to welcome author Christina Lorenzen to talk about herself and her writing. I’ve read her romance A Husband for Danna and can thoroughly recommend it – the unusual premise and lovely depiction of small-town America make for a delightful read. I’m not the only person who thinks so … check out the four and five-star reviews on Amazon!

Before we get to the interview, take a look at the blurb and the gorgeous cover …

AHusbandforDanna500X750Off and running! In her frenzied quest to escape from a groom her father has chosen for her, Danna Rashba ‘borrows’ a limousine parked on Main Street. The last thing on her mind is finding a groom from another wedding in the backseat. What are the chances that the bride and groom from two different weddings running from the altar on the same day? The last thing Danna wants is a hostage as she tries to escape from her nuptials.

The last thing Eric Harmon wants is to be saddled with yet another spoiled, needy woman. He’s furious about this wrench in his plans, he accuses Danna of stealing. He wants to send her home in a cab as soon as they get to the nearest town, but Danna refuses. Much to Eric’s frustration, one thing after another seems to keep them tied together.

Soon the generosity of a local shopkeeper and several people in town have them mistaken for newlyweds. Danna and Eric find themselves stepping into the role as husband and wife leading them to realize they just may be each other’s ‘match’. But will Danna be able to stand up to her rigid, old fashioned father and choose her own husband?

A Husband for Danna is available from:

Amazon       Barnes & Noble       Kobo       Smashwords           iTunes       Booksamillion       

 

So, Christina – What was the initial kernel of an idea that got you started writing A Husband for Danna ?

I was sitting at a stoplight right out in front of the church in my town. I happened to look over and saw an older man and a bride arguing in front of the church steps. It appeared to be a father and daughter and my first thought was “what if she’s arguing with her father because she doesn’t want to get married?” Then I took it a step further and thought “what if the groom isn’t her choice? what if it’s an arranged marriage?” I came home later that day and started toying with the idea.

Could you tell us more about the small town setting?

I love small towns. Growing up I spent a lot of time in a small town in Massachusetts that my grandmother  and grandfather lived in. My mother grew up in that town where there was one stop light, a small beach, one general store … pretty much one of everything. You could cover the town by foot it was so small a town. As an adult I always thought I’d like to live in a small town just like it as opposed to the town I live in here in New York. Danna is feeling the opposite of me. She’s spent her whole life in a small town where everyone knows everyone else and she’s eager to try life in the ‘big city’ – if she can ever get there. Unfortunately she lives in a family that adheres to rigid culture beliefs that the man has the power. Even though her groom to be will be taking a position as a doctor in the city and leaving her father’s practice, the lure of living in the city with him isn’t enough to get her to the altar.

What is your heroine Danna’s most admirable quality?

I think it’s her deep loyalty to her family and her culture. Her loyalty to her father is what gets her into trouble as the only way she can say no to the marriage is by running from the altar. After that I would say that her desire to be independent and call her own shots, take care of herself, is most admirable.

And your hero Eric’s?

Eric is my Prince Charming. Even though he’s been burned by the betrayal of his fiancee, in more than one way, he just can’t be mean to Danna. When he sees how distraught she is his first instinct is to protect her. Then he stops himself and decides he’s not going to get involved with yet another damsel in distress. Still he sees qualities in Danna that he can’t deny he admires. And Danna can say, as brusque as he is upon meeting, that he is truly a gentleman. 

Have you started your next book yet, and if so, can you tell us a little about it?

There have been  a lot of starts and stops, but I’m slowly working on a follow up to Danna and Eric’s story. Only this time Danna will be playing matchmaker for Minnie, the quaint old owner of the boutique she and Eric get outfitted in when they first come to Harmony.

I am SO looking forward to reading it! And now a little about you …

Where do you do your writing?

I’m lucky in that I can write in noise and confusion. Because I have ringing in the ears, I never write in total silence. I have a beautiful big office that I’ve been writing in for years, having spent 20 years as a journalist. I write in there with music playing. If I’m not in my office I’m curled up on the sofa or an easy chair. And if the weather cooperates (spring can’t get to the northeast soon enough!) I take my laptop out to the patio and work in the sun poolside. Being a journalist gave me the ability to write wherever and however.

Sounds perfect already! But if you could have your dream space to write, where or what would it be?

Well, I have a pretty nice space now but my dream would be to have a litttle cottage off from the house where I could lock myself away for hours – with maybe only my cats for company. I’d either like to have lots of land around me or perhaps a little hut instead, parked right on the beach. The sound of the waves would be very inspiring for me. I think as a writer one of the things I love to do most is read blogs where other writers talk about where they write. Like a lot of things in life, we always think the grass is greener on the other side and that ‘they have the best space’. But in reality if you really love writing you’ll manage to do it in whatever space you have.

That’s so true! Still, a beach hut does sound pretty appealing …

Thank you for visiting, Christina!

Christina LorenzenABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Christina started writing as a young teen, jotting stories in wire ring composition notebooks. Her first typewriter made it faster to get all those stories out of her head and down on paper. Her love of writing has sustained her through a myriad of jobs that included hairdresser,legal secretary, waitress and door-­to-‑door saleswoman.Luckily for her, writing proved to be successful and a lot less walking than going door to door. “A Husband for Danna” is Christina’s first novel. She is busy working on her next. When she isn’t writing or reading, she can be found walking her dog, talking to her herd of cats and spending time with her family. 
You can find Christina online at:
 
Facebook author page        Twitter       Pinterest       Website       Blog

 

2 thoughts on “Meet … Christina Lorenzen!

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I love small-town romances, too! Hope the sequel comes together for you. I have Husband for Danna downloaded and I need to make time to read it!

I'd love to hear from you ...

