Meet … Krysten Lindsay Hager!

Welcome to Krysten Lindsay Hager and Book Two in her Landry’s True Colors series, a young adult series about friendship, self-esteem, fitting in, middle school and high school, frenemies, modeling, crushes, values, and self-image.

First, the lovely cover and blurb …

BestFriendsForever453x680

Good friends have your back, but some go behind it.

Landry Albright hopes the new year will start off in an amazing way—instead she has to deal with more frenemy issues, boy drama, and having most of her best friends make the cheerleading squad without her. Suddenly, it seems like all anyone can talk about is starting high school next year—something she finds terrifying.

Landry gets her first boyfriend (her crush, Vladi), but then gets dumped just as things come to a head with her friends. She feels lost and left out, but finds good advice about dealing with frenemies from what she considers an unlikely source. Landry faces having to speak up for what’s right, tell the truth (even when it hurts), and how to get past the fear of failure as she gets another shot at competing in the American Ingénue modeling competition. Will she get a second chance with her friends, fame, and Vladi?

Best Friends…Forever? was ranked at #1 on Amazon’s Hot New Releases in Teen & Young Adult Values & Virtues Fiction and #1 on Amazon’s Hot New Releases in Children’s Books on Values. The first in the series, True Colors, is an international bestselling book.

You can see the book trailer for Best Friends … Forever? here:     YouTube

And click on the links below to buy:

Amazon     Amazon international      Barnesandnoble.com     itunes     Kobo

So tell me, Krysten, what was the initial kernel of an idea that got you started writing Landry’s True Colors series?

Back when I was reading young adult books, there were always these tight knit groups of best friends in the stories who were very close and could count on each other—and they were all perfect looking. At that age, I was looking around thinking, where’s my fabulous life like that? But now I realize how unrealistic that was/is and so I created a character, Landry, who wants that very thing, but has to deal with the reality of how friendships really are which are sometimes unpleasant with jealousy and dealing with the growing pains of friendships that change and sometimes even end.

Could you tell us a little about the setting in Best Friends … Forever?

The story is set in a city called Grand Rapids in Michigan. Landry’s world consists mainly of:  her private school, Hillcrest Academy, Ignatowski’s Ice Cream Palace which is the ice cream parlor where everyone hangs out, and the high school where Vladi and her new friend Kendall go to school and where Landry and her friends go to basketball games to watch Vladi play. I actually have a little map of where Landry’s house is in comparison to her friends’ houses, her bus route, school, etc. And I have a picture of the real house where she lives. I post pictures on my website and on Pinterest of how I imagine some of Landry’s furniture and what her friends’ rooms would look like.

You certainly have a really detailed picture of everything you write about! What is your heroine Landry’s most admirable quality?

Landry is a loyal person who always wants the best for everyone. She sees some of her friends trying out for the cheerleading squad and she worries it will mean they will all have this new crew to hang out with next year and she’ll be left out. However, she still supports them during tryouts because it’s important to them. She also wants Devon to know the truth about what’s going on behind her back with their friend India and the boy Devon likes, but it backfires when India twists the truth and tries to make Landry the bad guy.

Have you started your next book yet, and if so, can you tell us a little about it?

Yes, I’m working on the third book in the Landry’s True Colors Series right now and outlining book four as well. In book three, Landry deals with the distance that’s been growing between herself and her friend Tori, and she also worries about losing another friend, Ashanti, to a new group of girls. She also has to deal with some rumors that get started and threaten to ruin her relationship with her boyfriend.

Sounds great! And now, a little about you. Where do you do your writing?

I have actually turned the great room into my office. I have one section with my desk where I do my writing and another area where I do social media stuff.  I keep cute little gifts I’ve been given on my desk like my Hello Kitty toys, my Virginia Woolf doll, and my Great Gatsby mug.

That’s an eclectic collection! If you could have your dream space to write, where or what would it be?

I would love a room with built-in bookshelves that overlooks a beautiful green garden. The room I use now has vaulted ceilings and I’d like a cozier spot. Right now I have an armoire for my books and a lot of them are in the drawers, but I’d really love built-ins so I could see all my books at once—I’m weird that way, but I always want to see all of my books.

Sounds fair enough to me. Thanks so much for visiting, Krysten.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Krysten Lindsay HagerKrysten Lindsay Hager is a book addict who has never met a bookstore she didn’t like. She’s worked as a journalist and writes middle grade, YA, humor essays, and adult fiction. She is originally from Michigan and has lived in Portugal, South Dakota, and currently resides in Southern Ohio where you can find her reading and writing when she’s not catching up on her favorite shows. She received her master’s degree from the University of Michigan-Flint.

You can find Krysten by clicking on the links below:

Krysten’s website     Instagram     Facebook     Twitter   

4 thoughts on “Meet … Krysten Lindsay Hager!

I'd love to hear from you ...

