Meet … Felicia Rogers!

I’m happy to welcome author Felicia Rogers to the blog to talk about writing and her latest historical novel, Letters in the Grove (Renaissance Hearts Series Book 5).

First, the lovely cover and the blurb:

LettersintheGrove453x680Sometimes secrets keep people alive; sometimes they cast doubt and suspicion.

Gustav Braun is an ex-emissary for the French government. After his failure to stop an assassination attempt, his prospects for future employment disappear. German by birth, he decides to leave France and return to his native homeland…and his wife. He has been gone for a very long time and fears of her acceptance have him stalling his journey.

Teresa Braun has waited patiently for her husband’s return. While he gallivanted across Europe saving the world, she’s been forced to care for their home and possessions. The only form of communication with her husband was through letters stuffed secretly in a public grove.

With religious tensions growing at home and abroad, secrets can be one’s own worst enemy. And with some local Germans determined to protect their country from religious change, Teresa’s secret activities label her as a dissident.

Will the letters that shared Gustav and Teresa’s love save Teresa or be her doom?

And an excerpt:

Code in hand, she translated the symbols. Tears beaded in her eyes as the words became clear.

Mein Engel,

I hope you fare well. The news of continued peace is Augsburg is music to my soul. As long as you are safe I can continue to work toward our future.

It saddens me that the French government is staunchly against Protestant freedom. The admiral and his friends work tirelessly to rectify this situation. Brazil is ready for its first inhabitants. I hope one day we will be able to travel there together and make a new life.

As my quill flows over this paper, I think of you. The air is rife with the aroma of roses. It reminds me of holding you in my arms and smelling your sweet scent. I can picture you, your hair lying around your face, a smile of contentment tugging at the corner of your lips. I wish I was there now holding you. One day, these dreams will become a reality.

Remember to always code your messages. Pressures on our movement have caused people to do desperate things. And as always, I love you.

Your husband, Gustav

Teresa ran her fingers lovingly over the original letter. If she closed her eyes she could almost see Gustav penning the missive.

Sounds great! So, tell me, Felicia, what was the initial kernel of an idea that got you started writing this book?

The initial idea for Letters in the Grove came from love letters. I wanted to make a story about a couple that had to “hide” their love letters.

Could you tell us more about the setting and time period?

Letters in the Grove is set in Germany, France, and England in 1558. Germany was the home of the Reformation, the place where religious change truly began. However, everyone was not happy about this change and that made for some volatile times. Teresa and Gustav are right in the middle of the chaos. Gustav has been working for the religious freedom movement in France, but what he doesn’t realize is that his wife is also involved in the movement in Augsburg, Germany.

Intriguing! What is your heroine’s most admirable quality?

I think Teresa’s most valuable quality is her spunk and her ability to rescue herself from most situation. She’s been alone for awhile so she’s had to learn to adapt.

And your hero’s?

Gustav’s most admirable quality is his love and loyalty for his wife and his faith.

I like the sound of them both already! Have you started your next book yet, and if so, can you tell us a little about it?

Currently I’m finishing up a series called The Board. After that I have plans to start something completely different, maybe a mystery.

And now a little about you … Where do you do your writing?

Most of the time I write at the kitchen table. I have a really nice office, but it is buried in my basement and well, it’s cold! I’d much rather be upstairs and looking out at the mountains while I work.

If you could have your dream space to write, where or what would it be? 

My dream space for writing would be a screened in back porch. It would be like being outside without being outside.

I must admit, I really like the sound of that. Thanks for visiting, Felicia. It’s been great getting to know you a little better.

 Click on the links below to buy your copy of Letters in the Grove:

Amazon     Barnes & Noble  

Book one in this series, There Your Heart Will Be Also, is on sale for 99 cents/99p!

“This was a sweet story and Sarra was a heroine that you can relate to. It does not matter in what time you live in, you want to know that the person you plan to spend your life with loves you for you.” – IowaAngela, reviewer on Amazon

“Loved, Loved, Loved this book! Great Historical Fiction. I also loved the spiritual thread. Eventually the truth will always come out. This is the first book in a series and I cannot wait to read the other books in this great series..” – Wilani Wahl, reader

Buy There Your Heart Will Be Also on Amazon: http://tinyurl.com/ozqm2ag

Buy There Your Heart Will Be Also on B&N: http://tinyurl.com/lllavax

 

authors photoABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Felicia Rogers is an author of multiple novels and novellas. When she’s not writing, Felicia volunteers with the Girl Scouts of America, teaches at a local homeschooling group, hikes, and spends time with her family.

To find out more information about Felicia Rogers, visit the sites below. She loves hearing from her readers:   

Felicia’s website     Facebook     Goodreads     

Email: feliciarogersauthor@yahoo.com

I'd love to hear from you ...

