‘Summer Begins’ Blog Hop

CLRMay

     Thank you to all those taking part. Comments are now closed.

And using that good old traditional ‘names out of a hat’ method (well, out of a mixing bowl, actually!) the winner is Serena S. Congratulations!

Welcome to the Candlelight Reads ‘Summer Begins’ Blog Hop! There are giveaways at each hop, so make sure you visit them all!

The theme is: Summer has just begun! What’s your favorite thing about summer? What kind of trips do you take? Anything special happen when summer begins for you? 

I like summer for that slightly lazy feeling you get, a desire not to stick too hard to routine, the smell of freshly mown grass … and I absolutely love the lazy hum of bees in the garden.

Unfortunately, I can’t stand too much heat, although that’s not something I have to worry about too often, living in the north of England! But it does mean I can’t go anywhere too hot for a summer holiday. Greece, Italy, Spain? No thanks. France – and no further south than the Loire – is about as hot as I can manage in the July/August school holidays without being ill. 

My new summer romance Holding Back is set in the beautiful countryside of northern Portugal, a place I’ve visited a couple of times and survived the temperature, mainly because one of the visits was in October! I fell in love with the place … and hope my readers will, too!

HoldingBack - cover

The last thing they’re looking for is love …

Laura Matheson is a natural at avoiding romance, so when she is drawn to mystery guest Daniel Stone while helping out at her friends’ hotel in Portugal, she assumes all she needs is a little extra willpower.

Daniel is at the hotel on business. The demands of work and a manipulative ex-girlfriend mean he doesn’t have the time or energy for romance, but Laura is a distraction he finds hard to ignore.

As they negotiate a minefield of misunderstandings and mutual attraction, will they both continue to hold back? Or will they finally allow love into their lives?

Available at:       Amazon US       Amazon UK       Barnes & Noble       Kobo       Smashwords

THIS GIVEAWAY HAS NOW ENDED

  ***     And now for the GIVEAWAY!     ***    

For a chance to win a $5 or £5 Amazon voucher (depending where you are!) and a pdf copy of Holding Back, all you have to do is comment below and tell me which smell reminds you most of summer. 

You’ll need to give your e-mail address to comment, but it won’t be published!

The winner will be drawn on May 26th and contacted by Helen soon after.

 Now hop on over to these other blogs and have a go at winning their prizes, too!

1. Dreaming Awake 2. Barbara Cool Lee’s Beach Summer
3. Bonnie Blythe’s Pure Romance 4. Heather Gray, Inspirational Romance
5. Sharon Kleve Romantic Ramblings 6. Amber Daulton
7. Jennifer Chambers 8. laurenmariebooks
9. Joanne Jaytanie 10. Grace Augustine
11. Natalie-Nicole Bates 12. Christina Lorenzen
13. Angela Ford – Romantic Escapes 14. Krysten Lindsay Hager, author
15. Musing About The Writing Life 16. Helen Pollard – contemporary romance
17. Orsayor @ Book Referees
34 thoughts on “‘Summer Begins’ Blog Hop

  1. Brooke says:

    Just the smell of warmth in the air – I love how the summer air just smells hazy and you know the day is going to be sunny and beautiful.

    brookeb811 at gmail dot com

  2. ellisdream says:

    The scent of the sea is probably the most distinctive even if it’s been a long time since I even go to the seaside with regularity during summer.
    I do love ‘hunting’ for wild berries and mushrooms during the summers, though, so even if they aren’t typically ‘summery’ scents they are familiar to me during the summer season 🙂

    ellis_dream (at) hotmail (dot) com

    • Helen Pollard says:

      Oooh, yes. Definitely the scent of the sea … salt and seaweed. I love walking along the coast and start to sulk if I don’t get somewhere near it once in a while! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. Jonella Moore says:

    I Enjoy being able to have my windows open, the smell of lilacs, hearing the birds in the or inns and the froggies at the pond at night. Getting to spend more time with my granddaughter is great too!

    • Helen Pollard says:

      Yes, lilac’s a good one. I remember the year I was pregnant with my first child, I think I had a heightened sense of smell, because the lilacs were so potent that year! Love birds chirping, too … apart from the fact that they start so darned early in the morning 🙂 Thanks for your visit, Jonella.

  4. ladymagnolia99 says:

    I love the smell of fresh cut grass. I know the weather has gotten decent when I smell the fresh cut grass.

    Judy
    magnolias_1(at)msn(dot)com

  5. Dawn Pearson says:

    Summer! Summer means Texas heat, sounds of crickets, and the smell of BBQ grills while enjoying a slice of watermelon. It also means reading in a cozy chair with a tall glass of iced tea or lemonade.

  6. portybelle says:

    Glad it’s not just me that can’t stand the summer heat! Not usually a problem here in Scotland either but does limit holidays a bit! Smells of summer? Cut grass and barbecues and lavender.

    • Helen Pollard says:

      Ah … someone with the same heat aversion as me (Mind you, I don’t like it too cold, either. My husband complains that I have a very narrow comfort zone!) Lavender – yes, definitely. Thanks for visiting 🙂

  7. Jannette Spann says:

    Fresh cut grass reminds me of summer, which in turn makes me want watermelon, cantaloupes, and tomato sandwiches. Oh yeah, and home-made ice cream, green apples, and a trip to the beach!
    I love summer in the south.

I'd love to hear from you ...

