Meet … Rachel Brimble!

Today I’d like to welcome Rachel Brimble to the blog to tell us about her historical romance, What a Woman Desires.

But first, I’ll tempt you with the fabulous cover and blurb … 

Brimble coverFrom country girl to actress of the stage, one woman dares to live her dreams—but is she brave enough to open her heart…?

Monica Danes always wanted more than the village of Biddestone had to offer. After a failed courtship to a man of her parents’ choosing, she fled for the city of Bath and never looked back. Today, Monica is the undisputed queen of the theater—a wealthy, independent woman. But when she is called home in the wake of tragedy, Monica returns—intending to leave again as soon as possible.

Thomas Ashby has been a groom at the Danes estate since he was a boy—and has been enamored with Monica for almost as long. He knows he isn’t a suitable match for his master’s daughter, despite the special bond he and Monica have always shared—and their undeniable attraction. But now that she’s returned, Thomas has one last chance to prove himself worthy—and to show Monica a life, and a love, she won’t want to give up…

The story sounds wonderful, Rachel. Tell me, what was the initial kernel of an idea that got you started writing WHAT A WOMAN DESIRES?

I have been really fortunate with my Victorian romances with eKensington in that I never intended for them to be in any way linked, but when I started writing, each book gave me a new character that I wanted to carry forward to the next one. Monica Danes, the heroine in What A Woman Desires, appeared as a secondary character in THE TEMPTATION OF LAURA and I knew immediately she deserved her own story and WHAT A WOMAN DESIRES was born 😀

Could you tell us a little about the time period in which the book is set?

All my Victorian romances are set in the late 1800s and take place in and around Bath, England. The main reason for this is I live just a short thirty-minute drive from the city so I have easy access for research and local knowledge.

A perfect situation! What would you say is Monica’s most admirable quality?

Her strength – she is a very determined young woman who has known her fair share of struggle and mistreatment. Optimistic and caring, she not only wants the best for herself but also for those around her.

And your hero Thomas Ashby’s?

Good lord, I am SO in love with Thomas! He might just be my most favourite hero to date, lol! He is strong, loyal, caring and a fabulous listener – all in all, my dream man 😀

Sounds like the perfect hero! Have you started your next book yet, and if so, can you tell us a little about it?

I am just coming to the end of my first big, single title romantic suspense which is longer and darker than anything I’ve written before. I am very happy with it and really hope it finds a publisher! Once done, I will be starting the sixth book in my Harlequin Superromance Templeton Cove series which I am very excited about 😀

A writer’s work is never done, is it? And now a little about you. Where do you do your writing?

Up until recently I wrote on my laptop either on the sofa in the living room or at the kitchen table. However, I have now converted an upstairs bedroom into my office, which I absolutely love! It is so nice to have a place that is all mine 😀

It’s certainly great to have your own space. If you could have your dream space to write, where or what would it be?

See above – I am very happy where I am BUT my favourite place ever was on holiday in Rhodes where I wrote 15,000 in the sun with a glorious pool at the end of my sun bed. Bliss!

Sounds glorious, although I’m not sure I’d have got much work done if I’d been there! Thanks so much for visiting, Rachel.

 

WHAT A WOMAN DESIRES is available from the links below:

Amazon US          Amazon UK          Barnes & Noble

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

BrimbleRachel lives with her husband and two teenage daughters in a small town near Bath in the UK. After having several novels published by small US presses, she secured agent representation in 2011. In 2012, she sold two books to Harlequin Superromance and a further three in 2013. She also writes Victorian romance for Kensington–her debut was released in April 2013, followed by a second in January 2014 and the third is released Jan 2015.

Rachel is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and Romance Writers of America, and was selected to mentor the Superromance finalist of So You Think You Can Write 2014 contest. When she isn’t writing, you’ll find Rachel with her head in a book or walking the beautiful English countryside with her family. Her dream place to live is Bourton-on-the-Water in South West England.

She likes nothing more than connecting and chatting with her readers and fellow romance writers. Rachel would love to hear from you!

You can find Rachel at:

Website       Blog       Twitter       Facebook       Facebook Street Team – Rachel’s Readers

 

16 thoughts on “Meet … Rachel Brimble!

  1. Margaret Cullingford says:

    Fascinating blog – I’m always interested to read about what inspires others to write what they do, and how they work. Rachel sounds as though she’s never short of inspiration, and has the ideal writer’s life.

  2. Rachel Brimble says:

    Hello, ladies!! I am very fortunate, Margaret and never take it for granted 😀 I love what I do and where I live – many blessings! Thanks for stopping by xo

  3. angelabritnell says:

    Interesting to find out more about you Rachel and having revisited Bath recently for the first time in years I’m very envious!

  4. Marie Laval says:

    Well, after reading Rachel’s interview I just love the sound of this novel…and of the hero! It sounds wonderful and I wish you lots of success with it. Rachel, I can perfectly understand how happy you are to have your own office. I would love one so much – or even just a quiet, private space tucked away from the noise and the mess, where I could write in peace. Maybe one day….

    • Rachel Brimble says:

      Hi Marie! Hope you’llbe tempted to read Monica and Thomas’ story – I loved writing this story 🙂 my office is now my sanity! I have no idea how I wrote as long as I did without one, if I’m honest 😉

  5. newromanticspress says:

    Lovely to ‘catch up’ with Rachel as I think we joined the RNA at the same time (!) since then our writing journey has taken us in two different directions. I really like the sound of these novels as historicals were my first love. Good luck with your endeavours.

I'd love to hear from you ...

