Short story success!

August has been quite an exciting month for me.

On a personal level, hubby and I had our first holiday alone together in twenty-one years! Proper holiday, that is – we have managed a single night away once in a blue moon, but this was nine whole nights in lovely Wales.

Dale

Uni daughter was keen to stay at home with her reading list for next year and feed the cat, and teenage son was away at Scout camp – so we took advantage. Daughter didn’t burn the house down, the cat didn’t starve, son got home safely and we haven’t filed for divorce. Success all round, I say 🙂

On a professional level, I had my first two short stories published by The People’s Friend magazine this month, one in their Holiday Special and one in the 15th August weekly edition, and I can’t tell you how pleased I am.

People's Friend mag x 2

I’d half-heartedly tried short stories about twenty years ago with no success. When I started writing again a few years ago, I was concentrating on my novels, but recently I decided to have another go at the short story market.

Of course, short stories are a completely different discipline to novel-writing, but it’s a nice change to face new challenges. I’ve been trying on and off for the past couple of years and had my share of rejections, so it was lovely to receive a couple of acceptance e-mails.

New Horizons

Both my stories are very short and are less a beginning-middle-end type of story, more a snapshot in time – a meaningful conversation between people. I do love dialogue!

Happy Anniversary! 05.08.15

With just two published stories under my belt, I wouldn’t presume to give advice at this stage – there are far more seasoned writers for women’s magazines who write such blogs so well 🙂

But I would say that it seems it is worth persevering, and in my case, keeping an occasional eye on the magazines you are aiming for to see what kind of stories and styles they are publishing at the moment – without necessarily trying to copy those styles. I do feel that your own voice is so important.

I only have one other story still under consideration at the moment and no more in the pipeline – better get writing!

6 thoughts on “Short story success!

  1. rosgemmell says:

    That’s excellent news, Helen – well done! I started with short stories before going on to novels, but I haven’t written or sent any new ones out for a while now. I really enjoy the different forms of writing. Glad you enjoyed your holiday – it’s great when you get to be a couple again!

  2. kathleenbee says:

    Congratulations on publishing your short stories. I’ve considered sending into a magazine, but never plucked up the courage. You’ve given me food for thought. I’m so happy you had a lovely holiday with your hubby in Wales.

I'd love to hear from you ...

