Tea party!

On Saturday, I had the pleasure of attending my very first RNA (Romantic Novelists’ Association) event – a tea party in York at the beautiful Guildhall.

Guildhall, York

I joined the RNA at the beginning of this year and slowly but surely have got to know some of its members through Facebook and Twitter.

And through people kindly reaching out, I had already met half a dozen local members a few times for lunch – something which helped me greatly when it came to attending this ‘proper’ do.

The prospect of a hundred romance authors gathered in one place was a daunting one for an introvert like me . . . although those who met me might not realise this, as I have a tendency to babble to hide my nerves! Heartfelt apologies to those who experienced this phenomenon at the weekend 🙂

I needn’t have worried. Members of the RNA are a friendly and supportive bunch, and it was so nice to recognise people  I had chatted to online and approach them or be approached.

Rosemary, Helena, Marie, Anne

From left to right: Rosemary Gemmell, Helena Fairfax, Marie Laval, Anne Stenhouse.

(John Jackson should be in the photo but he was too busy taking photos of / for everyone else!)

What did I enjoy most?

  • The venue was unusual and handsome.
  • The sandwiches, pastries, cakes and scones were delicious.
  • Everyone was so friendly and the people on my table were lovely.
  • Milly Johnson’s speech was hilariously northern as befitted her and the venue.
  • Photographs abound on Facebook as a lovely reminder of the afternoon.

Would I attend again? You bet!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Tea party!

  1. rosgemmell says:

    Great post, Helen. It was lovely to meet you in person and sorry I was perusing the menu when you were taking the photo! I know what you mean about talking when slightly nervous about so many people – I think that’s partly why I talk too much at such events and I always feel exhausted afterwards!

    • Helen Pollard says:

      Thank you, Rosemary. I should have paid more attention when I took the photo! Still, the menu WAS well worth perusing! Glad it isn’t just me with the talking thing 🙂 Thank you for your lovely company.

  2. annestenhouse says:

    Hi Helen, I’m deeply embroiled in RNA stuff, so I’ve re-blogged your tea-party post instead of writing my own, Hmn! Hope that’s okay. Lovely to meet you and thanks for calling us all lovely. Lovely. anne stenhouse

I'd love to hear from you ...

