Welcome back . . . Marie Laval!

I’m delighted to welcome the lovely Marie Laval back on the blog with her newly-released romance The Dream Catcher, the first of her Dancing for the Devil trilogy.

First, a look at the wonderfully atmospheric cover and the blurb . . . 

The Dreamcatcher FINALCan her love heal his haunted heart?

Cape Wrath, Scotland, November 1847.

Bruce McGunn is a man as brutal and unforgiving as his land in the far North of Scotland. Discharged from the army where he was known as the claymore devil, haunted by the spectres of his fallen comrades and convinced he is going mad, he is running out of time to save his estate from the machinations of Cameron McRae, heir to the McGunn’s ancestral enemies. When the clipper carrying McRae’s new bride is caught in a violent storm and docks at Wrath harbour, Bruce decides to revert to the old ways and hold the clipper and the woman to ransom. However, far from the spoilt heiress he expected, Rose is genuine, funny and vulnerable – a ray of sunshine in the long, harsh winter that has become his life.

But Rose is determined to escape Wrath and its proud master – the man she calls McGlum.

DREAM CATCHER is the first of the DANCING FOR THE DEVIL trilogy and is followed by BLUE BONNETS and SWORD DANCE.

Welcome back to the blog, Marie, and congratulations on your new release. Tell me, what made you decide to set this book in Scotland?

In two words – Cape Wrath. I had wanted to set a novel in Scotland for a long time but wasn’t sure where exactly. Then I read that incredibly evocative name on a map one day, and I was so intrigued that I looked it up and saw how wild and beautiful that far part of the country was. I immediately decided that it would be the setting for my next historical romance. I wasn’t deterred by the fact that there was nothing there. I just invented a village and Wrath Lodge, Lord McGunn’s bleak and forbidding ancestral home.  Then of course, being Scotland, there had to be a ghost…

You’re right, Cape Wrath is a very atmospheric place name! Can you tell us something about the time period?

The novel is set in 1847, one year after THE LION’S EMBRACE, which featured Rose Saintclair’s brother Lucas. It made sense to follow up from Lucas Saintclair’s story.

Which characteristics do you like best about your hero and heroine?

So far all my heroines have been brave and feisty, but Rose is the one who actually made me laugh as I was writing the novel. I love her sunny personality, her repartees and her sense of humour. I also quite like the fact that she appears a little spoiled and that she uses quite a lot of slang, her favourite phrase being ‘Bedbugs and stinky camels’! This is actually something that my mother used to say. She was from North Africa, like Rose…

As for my heroes, I guess they are all brave and strong, obsessed with doing their duty and tormented by some dark secret – nothing very cheerful, as you can see!

It’s great that you can use a little family background in your writing. Do you always like to incorporate a mystery into your novels?

I do! I can’t seem to be able to help it. Even when I set out to write a ‘straightforward’ romance I always get carried away and end up with a much longer, much more complex manuscript.

Can you tell us a little something about the next two books in the trilogy?

The next two novels are called BLUE BONNETS and SWORD DANCE. It was my editor’s idea to name the books after Highland dances since the overall title for the trilogy is DANCING FOR THE DEVIL. The novels follow up from THE DREAM CATCHER and we find out how the relationship between Rose and Bruce McGunn develops. We also find out about the murders committed on Bruce’s land and the mystery behind his birth…but I don’t want to reveal too much at this stage!

It sounds like a fabulous trilogy. Thank you so much for visiting, Marie!


The Dream Catcher  is available both as ebook and print from:     AMAZON UK       AMAZON US



MarieLaval (2)Originally from Lyon in France, Marie has lived in the beautiful Rossendale Valley, Lancashire, for the past few years and works full-time as a teacher. When she isn’t busy looking after family, marking books and planning lessons, Marie loves nothing more than dream up a romance story. ANGEL HEART, her debut historical romance, has been re-released by Áccent Press, together with award-winning THE LION’S EMBRACE. Marie also writes contemporary romance with A SPELL IN PROVENCE, which was published earlier in 2015. THE DREAM CATCHER, Part I of her historical romance Trilogy DANCING FOR THE DEVIL, has just been released by Áccent.

You can find Marie at these links:




9 thoughts on “Welcome back . . . Marie Laval!

    • Marie Laval says:

      Thank you very much for visiting, Linda, and for your kind comment. Yes, I couldn’t agree with you more: Scotland is a wonderful place to set a novel. In fact, since completing the Dancing for the Devil Trilogy, I have written another novel, a contemporary romance this time, which I have set in the Cairngorms!

I'd love to hear from you ...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s