Christmas favourites

Xmas tree

 

Favourite 3 movies . . . 

White Xmas DVDWhite Christmas  (1954)

Toe-tapping songs, great dancing, unashamed schmaltz, and those dresses … oh, those dresses. I always weep when it snows at the end. I can’t help myself.

 

CleoThe Tailor of Gloucester  (animated, 1993, Beatrix Potter – The World of Peter Rabbit and Friends)

Heart-warming . . . and Simpkin the cat bears more than a passing resemblance to our tabby.

 

Elf DVDElf  (2003)

Funny, sweet and festive . . . and it has Bob Newhart in it.

 

 

 

Favourite 3 songs . . .


Doris Day Xmas CDSilver Bells – Doris Day

Filled with magic and anticipation. What a spectacular voice!

 

 

White Christmas – Bing Crosby 

Well, you can’t have Christmas without Bing, can you?

 

Dean Martin Best CDI’ve Got My Love To Keep Me Warm – Dean Martin

Okay, not specifically a Christmas song, but wintry anyway – and that voice just wraps you in velvet.

 

Over to you! I’d love to hear about your favourite Christmas movies and songs . . .

6 thoughts on “Christmas favourites

  1. Tonette Joyce says:

    My mother had the whole Dean Martin Christmas album and some of the songs have never left me:”Marshmallow World” and “The Things We Did Last Summer” among them.I pulled them up on YouTube this year! Gotta love Dino!My mother was Italian and we had “Frank” on, too. My sister is older and played rock since I was born; I never get tired of Brenda Lee’s ” Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree” and the original “Jingle Bell Rock”. I have a Celtic Christmas CD I love and also a James Galway which is wonderful. I try to limit the Christmas music to just after Thanksgiving, though.
    On Four Foxes,One Hound last week we chose what characters in Christmas stories we’d like to be. If “Angel” in the original ‘story’ isn’t a choice, then I went for Vera Ellen’s character in “White Christmas”. We run that movie at least once here during the season.
    I have yet to see “Elf”, but George C.Scott’s version of “A Christmas Carol” is also a must-run for me. I also love “Claymation Christmas”. There are many traditions here.
    I wish you all the best for the coming year,Helen!

    • Helen Pollard says:

      Hi, Tonette. Thanks for visiting! Yes, I think Dean Martin had the kind of voice that lent itself to Christmas songs, didn’t he? And you can’t beat a bit of Frank. My husband’s been playing his songbook/swing tracks all Christmas!
      Do you know, I’ve never seen that version of A Christmas Carol – must keep my eye out for it next year.
      Christmas traditions are so comforting, aren’t they?
      All the very best to you for 2016, Tonette 🙂

  2. DenaRogers says:

    My favorite Christmas movie of all time, is The Santa Claus, and not the one with Tim Allen, but the older one with Dudley Moore. Love it since I was a kid. I also love the Christmas movies on Lifetime and the Hallmark channels (it’s a movie channel, not sure if you get those over there) But, I’m one of those people who can read Christmas books and watch movies all year round. As for songs, I can’t say I have a favorite,but I like upbeat, jazzy songs. I like to dance around the kitchen while I’m making candy. Merry Christmas, Helen and Happy New Year!

    • Helen Pollard says:

      Hi Dena, thanks for visiting. Yes, I love the jazzy songs too. Not sure I’ve seen the Dudley Moore film so will try to catch it next time it’s on. We don’t have those specific channels but we do have a channel showing those kinds of movies each afternoon coming up to Christmas. I always try to catch a few (and they always make me cry!)
      Wishing you a happy 2016, Dena 🙂

  3. Linda Johnson says:

    I love White Christmas too, also jingle all the way with Arnold , and the preachers wife -both versions are good, the oldie with Cary Grant and Loretta young as well as the Whitney Houston one.

    Songs: 1. Perry Como– Oh, Holy Night 2. Do You Hear what I Hear — 3.Jingle Bell Hop

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Helen Pollard says:

      I’ve seen the older Cary Grant film but not the newer one – I remember enjoying it very much. And Jingle All The Way was my niece’s favourite Christmas movie when she was little! Thanks for stopping by, Linda 🙂

I'd love to hear from you ...

