Places in ‘Return to The Little French Guesthouse’ #1 – Château de Chenonceau

So many readers have commented on how much they have enjoyed the settings in these books, I’m enjoying sharing some of the inspiration behind them. If you want to know more about the local towns and countryside featured in both The Little French Guesthouse and the sequel, you can look back at:

Inspiration for The Little French Guesthouse #1 – Town and Country

I also wrote about some of the towns and places Emmy managed  a whistle-stop tour of in the first book at:

Inspiration for The Little French Guesthouse #2 –  A Little Sightseeing

In Return to The Little French Guesthouse, Emmy’s new life is busier than she’d anticipated, but she still has time to discover the joy of cycling past vineyards and fields of corn, and experiences an evening at a local fête in the nearby imaginary town of Pierre-la-Fontaine.

She also gets to do a little more sightseeing. Her first proper visit to a château -at Chenonceau – is everything she imagined and more!

chenonceau-across-river-1-hp

Visiting with her French friend Sophie, they catch up with each others’ news as they wander, exploring both the inside and outside of the château.

chenonceau-tower-hp
Emmy particularly enjoys the view out across the river Cher from the windows in the long gallery – she could stand there all day, enjoying the breeze . . .

chenonceau-view-through-window-hp

And then there are the formal gardens to admire . . .

chenonceau-garden-hp

chenonceau-across-garden-2-hp

chenonceau-across-garden-1-hp

Most especially, Emmy loves the view from the far end of the gardens, where the château is reflected in all its glory in the river!

chenonceau-across-river-2-hp

I loved looking back at these photos to remind myself of my own visit to Chenonceau. They really made me want to go back there! I also availed myself of Google Maps street view, and the official website for the château at http://www.chenonceau.com/ where I could take a virtual panoramic tour to fully remind myself of the details for Emmy and Sophie’s visit. Needless to say, I lingered far longer than I should have!  🙂

10 thoughts on “Places in ‘Return to The Little French Guesthouse’ #1 – Château de Chenonceau

  1. Elizabeth Morris says:

    Thank you Helen it was good to see were Emmy went with Sophie. Was about to google the Château myself. I love France, have been there many times, mainly the South of France, Antibes.

  2. Patricia says:

    I have loved these books. I think a lot of people can relate to something in them. Me when I move to live in the states and leaving my family behind. Happy times sad times that’s what makes life what it is. Is there going to be a follow up to these two books I hope so. Please continue with your great writing loved the pictures

  3. Sally-Jane says:

    I loved the books. Certainly the extra ‘tourist information’ and french lifestyle that Emmy experienced with Sophie and Alain on their days out added to the whole roundness of the book. Absolutely loved both the books, I read them both consecutively within a week and couldn’t put them down.
    So many will they/won’t they moments and how I hated Gloria the wife with a passion the nasty scheming shrew!

    Will there be a book three please?

    • Helen Pollard says:

      Hi Sally Jane, thanks for visiting. So glad you enjoyed the books 🙂

      I’m taking a bit of a break for now as my brain is mush! But there are always plenty of ideas whizzing about up there …

I'd love to hear from you ...

