Guest post & new release from Linda Huber!

I’m delighted to welcome back my online friend, author Linda Huber. I was absolutely gripped by her last book, Chosen Child, so I’m thrilled to feature her brand new release here on the blog and to find out more, in her own words, about the element of romance in her thrillers. But first, take a look at the strikingly spooky cover and the blurb . . . 

ward-zero-completeHorror swept through her. Had she been buried alive?

On Sarah’s first visit to see her foster mother, Mim, in Brockburn General Hospital, she is sucked into a world that isn’t what it should be.

Someone is lying, someone is stealing. And someone is killing – but who? With a grieving child to take care of, as well as Mim, Sarah has to put family first. She doesn’t see where danger lies – until it’s too late.

If you think you’re safe in a hospital, think again.

 

And now over to Linda herself . . .

A thrilling romance… or maybe not…

balls-313405_1280

I’m a sucker for romance. Although my books are all psychological suspense novels, before I started in this genre I wrote romantic stories for women’s mags. So I do like a touch of romance in my thrillers too, and this has worked out reasonably well – until now.

In book one, my heroine met the local GP (and a couple of others too, but we won’t go into that). Book two saw a new teacher meet an ‘old’ teacher. (There was quite a lot more about that in the original draft, but my editor had me remove it…) In book three, Nina meets a handsome young lawyer, and in book four, there’s a nice policeman to help when he’s needed.

Then came Ward Zero, book five. I wrote the first draft, did three revision drafts myself, and sent it to my editor. ‘Ah,’ she said. ‘I don’t like Kenny; he’s a wimp. And as far as the plot’s concerned, you’d be much better making him a woman.’

Kenny was one of two possible love-interests for my heroine, Sarah. Looking at my book with fresh eyes, I did see that making him a woman gave a whole new dynamic to the thriller aspect – but it ruined the romantic part completely. However, my book is a thriller, so I changed Kenny into Caitlyn, and looked around my characters for another romance candidate to compete in the ‘who will Sarah choose’ conflict. Sorted. Back it went to my editor.

‘Ah,’ she said again. ‘I like Caitlyn. But… after all you put Sarah through, do you honestly think she’d end the book feeling quite so romantic?’

Well. Put like that, of course she wouldn’t. What happens to Sarah is enough to have most women running in the opposite direction every time a man looks at her.

But Sarah is made of stronger stuff, and I do like just a little romance…

On to the next draft, and it was the final one. With just a mini, teeny-weeny whiff of romance for Sarah at the end. Is it enough? For me, yes. But then, I wrote it. I know what happens to Sarah and Mr X after the last chapter…  🙂

pattern-1562835_1280

Thank you for the insight, Linda. It’s good to know that romance tries to creep into even the most chilling thrillers!  

You can buy Ward Zero: The Dead Room at:

Amazon UK     and     Amazon US

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

lindahuber-1Linda Huber grew up in Glasgow, Scotland, but went to work in Switzerland for a year aged twenty-two, and has lived there ever since. Her day jobs have included working as a physiotherapist in hospitals and schools for handicapped children, and teaching English in a medieval castle. Not to mention several years spent as a full-time mum to two boys and a rescue dog.
Linda’s books are psychological suspense novels, and the ideas for them come from daily life. The Paradise Trees and The Cold Cold Sea were traditionally published in 2013/2014 before she self-published The Attic Room in 2015 and Chosen Child in early 2016.
Ward Zero, her fifth book, was inspired by a Swiss TV programme and a hospital in the UK…

You can find Linda at these links:

Facebook          Twitter          Linda’s website          Linda’s blog  

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Guest post & new release from Linda Huber!

I'd love to hear from you ...

