A Week in Cornwall

Last time, I wrote about our week in Devon in September. If you missed it and are interested, you can read about it here.

The following week, we moved onto Cornwall.

Again, we were relatively lucky with the weather – plenty of sun, but with some cloud and rain. 

We stayed in a self-catering property in a converted farm building. I couldn’t tell you where it was near – it seemed miles from anywhere! Liskeard was the nearest town, several miles away, and finding our accommodation involved some very narrow roads.

The last mile or so was on this one, with NO passing places and a fair chance of meeting a tractor !

Funnily enough, I was happy to let hubby do the driving for the most part 🙂

Our first full day, we drove to Talland Bay – and it turned out to be my favourite spot of the holiday.

A small bay, it’s on the South West Coastal Path, so there are great walks in either direction.

There are two cafes in the vicinity, both lovely, and the only thing I had against it was the hair-raising narrow AND steep road to get there. I’m not sure I would dare attempt it in high season with all those cars trying to get past each other, but I am a cautious soul 🙂

The following day was rainy, so we ventured into Looe, leaving the car in Liskeard and travelling by train on the scenic Looe Valley line.

This turned out to be a good move , as the town was preparing for a music festival the following weekend and parking was limited. We enjoyed ourselves despite the rain, mooching around the gift and coffee shops.

The next day was brighter, so we visited Polperro. You have to park outside the village, due to the narrow streets – it helps preserve the olde-worlde atmosphere, too.

It’s twenty-five years since I last visited Polperro, and at that time, the place felt a little run down, with property seemingly difficult to shift, even at low prices. Now, the place seemed thriving – and those same tiny cottages were going for serious money.

We enjoyed the village and harbour, then sat for a long time just staring out to sea.

Midweek, we visited the Eden Project. We’d never been before, and in some ways I’m glad we waited, as it’s so well-established now. Nestled in its valley, it looks strangely futuristic.

I liked the rainforest biome the best . . .

To get the most from our visit, we took our time, reading all the information – although it’s probably equally nice to just stroll through and enjoy the atmosphere.

Now that the project has matured, it has grown high enough for a canopy walkway. Since I’m unlikely to visit a real rainforest any time soon, I particularly enjoyed this, despite my fear of heights. Here I am, looking as intrepid as you’re likely to ever see me!

We had lunch in the Mediterranean biome and enjoyed a stroll around it, took a look in the educational centre and mooched around outside a little, but we were tired by then and it was getting chilly. It was also rather late in the year to see the gardens at their best, so if we revisit sometime, it would be nice to do so earlier in the year and to spend more time outside.

Our final day was spent back at Talland Bay, where we enjoyed a lovely combination of a decent coffee, a healthy coastal walk, sitting on the beach to read, and a delicious cream tea.

I’ll leave you with a pic of my favourite coffee spot – one of the three beach huts at the cafe there . . .

 

15 thoughts on “A Week in Cornwall

  1. rosgemmell says:

    Beautiful photos, Helen – we have lovely memories of Cornwall when the children were younger. We even travelled all the way by train one year from Scotland but it was worth it!

  2. Janni says:

    Your pictures are stunning. I don’t think I’ve ever been to Cornwall. My parents and younger sister went there on holiday (all the way from Scotland) in 1976. I remember it well. I was in the ante natal ward awaiting the arrival of my son. He arrived 2 days after they left!

I'd love to hear from you ...

